I have signed up to volunteer with the Craft Council’s Craft Club initiative. One element of the scheme is called Knit 1, which aims to introduce children to knitting and crochet through informal events. This weekend they’ll be holding an event at the Whitechapel as part of the gallery’s Family Day, which I’m really look forward to helping with.

Apparently we might be teaching Finger Knitting, which I’ve never actually done before. Luckily the internet can be relied upon for a decent tutorial

I’m hoping to gain an insight into teaching craft skills, engaging young people and working with artists and other makers in a learning environment. Oh, and the Zarina Bhimji show at the Whitechapel is absolutely fantastic; if you can, go!

On a related but separate note, this evening I’m an initial visit to a St Mungo’s hostel in Camden to meet staff (and residents, I presume) and discuss running workshops there once a week. More on that soon… and some more actual craft-related posts too!

